food pyramid

Revised: Aussie Food Pyramid


This week, Nutrition Australia has developed a new food pyramid. After getting information from government surveys, average Australia consumes more than third of their daily energy intake through junk food. Considering this, they developed the pyramid to help consumers understand some of the risky fad diets.

Dissecting the Food Pyramid

As you can see from the image, the bottom layer purely includes plant-based foods like fruits, vegetables and legumes. The level above that has grains (oats, quinoa, couscous and wholegrain cereal). The second highest level has dairy products – milk, yoghurt, cheese and their alternatives. It also includes lean meat, poultry, fish, eggs, nuts, and seeds (soy milk and tofu make an appearance here). At the peak of the pyramid sits ‘healthy fats’. This can be found in unrefined polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats from plant sources, such as extra virgin olive oil, nut and seed oils. Fish and avocados also provide healthy fats.

Butter has been eliminated from the pyramid altogether and there is also a warning about junk food.

After seeing the changes Australian officials have made to the food pyramid, do you have to consider revising your diet so that it will reflect the new pyramid? Or does it inspire you to adopt a new and healthier diet.

If you would like more information on this topic or get the source URL for this article, then email us at [email protected]

More Info?

Follow Us

Share this post